Front Page @Instagram @Facebook @Twitter Custom Site Search

Photo Credit: Pending

"Welcome To Wellington County!"

County Of Wellington 
 74 Woolwich Street _ Guelph, ON_ N1H 3T9

Tel  (519) 837-2600, Toll Free 1-800-663-0750


1172 - 1/17/2022 7:40:30 AM  

Spectrum, A New Exhibit At The Wellington County Museum And Archives

Featuring never-before seen artifacts from the museum and archives collection in a stunning array of colours. Until March 20, 2022

Released For Publication October 15, 2021

Immerse yourself in a world of colour in Spectrum, a new exhibit at the Wellington County Museum and Archives. Opening October 16, 2021, Spectrum features never-before seen artifacts from the museum and archives collection in a stunning array of colours.

“This exhibit explores light and colour in a really fun way,” says Hailey Johnston, Curator. “Visitors will get to experiment with lights and filters to learn how different colours are made and why we see them the way we do.”

Some of the unique artifacts on display include, an emerald green petticoat made with arsenic dye, a large red street organ built by an Elora resident, and a purple striped wedding dress that is as old as the museum itself. Visitors of all ages will enjoy hands-free light experiments and optical illusions.

“Our world is full of colour, not just the clothes we wear but also the phrases we use,” Johnston remarks. “Seeing red, feeling blue, and being green with envy. We use colour to describe emotions and convey complex ideas.”

The Wellington County Museum and Archives is located on Wellington Road 18 between Fergus and Elora. All patrons must complete an active screening form upon entry, show proof of full COVID-19 vaccination, and adhere to all public health measures while inside the building. The galleries are open weekdays from 9:30 am to 4:30 pm and 1:00 to 5:00 pm on weekends. Admission is by donation.

For more information about the Spectrum exhibit, please visit


The County of Wellington is located in south-western Ontario just over 100 kilometres west of Toronto along Highway 401.

The County is made up of seven member municipalities including the Town of Erin, Town of Minto, Township of Wellington North, Township of Mapleton, Township of Centre Wellington, Township of Guelph/Eramosa and the Township of Puslinch.


Front Page | About | Privacy Policy | Social Media | Join | Contact